FAQ

Frequently asked questions on Sigmah

1. The software and its features

What is Sigmah ?

Sigmah is information management software for international aid projects. It helps users to organise and share project information, such as:

  • Key documents (terms of reference, proposals, CVs, etc.). All the different versions of a document can be stored.
  • Important dates (launch meetings, field visits, report deadlines).
  • Monitoring of project indicators and the logical framework.

Sigmah allows you to monitor the progress being made on each project. The software’s dashboard provides an overview of the general situation of all your projects.
8 The software is built around the different phases of project management. These phases, and any other important steps that need to be followed, can be adapted to your organisation’s practices.

What can Sigmah bring to my organisation ?

-# Sigmah allows the users in your organisation to consult information about all your projects in real time, with different profiles giving different access rights.

  1. Sigmah makes it easier to share information between staff: between the headquarters, between country desks and project sites, between countries, etc.
  2. Sigmah allows you to gain access to/find important documents in a few clicks.
  3. Sigmah allows up to date monitoring of projects.
  4. By making you define the key steps involved in managing your projects, and the information that should be gathered for each of these phases, Sigmah encourages you to define and adopt good practices within your organization.

Can I use Sigmah to monitor the finances of my projects ?

Only information about global budgetary expenditure per project is available. During the needs assessment that preceded the development of Sigmah, it clearly emerged that most organisations had already developed internal procedures and had invested in reliable financial systems to help with internal and external audits and donor reporting. As a result, Sigmah focuses on the key data needed to manage your organization effectively (see Features).

What is the offline mode ?

The offline mode allows users to continue to work on Sigmah even when there is no internet connection. They can subsequently share their work with their collaborators by synchronizing the data when a connection is available again.
In offline mode, Sigmah can be used almost fully: users can consult the latest version of information that has been downloaded, modify information, attach files, etc. Only the modification of reports, the creation of reports and administrative tasks are not accessible.

What languages is Sigmah available in?

At present, Sigmah is available in three languages: French, English and Spanish. But you can contribute to translating it into another language using the online translation software, Pootle. An Arabic version of Sigmah could well be available soon if a volunteer offers to finish the translation of the software which is already well underway in this language.

What is the difference between Sigmah and other software of this kind ?

The main difference between Sigmah and other software of this kind is that it aims to make the organisations that use it more autonomous. The objective of the Sigmah project is to reinforce the information management capacity of international aid organisations.

Not only is Sigmah distributed with an open source license, it is designed so that it can be configured without any specific IT skills. Sigmah’s open source license allows organisations to be autonomous in relation to service providers. It also means that it can be used by organisations of all sizes because there are no obligatory fees.
Configuration can be carried out by anyone who is comfortable using spreadsheet programmes like LibreOffice Calc or Microsoft Excel. This involves establishing links between the concrete needs of the organization and all the different ways that the software can be configured. This direct involvement, without any intermediary, not only allows the configuration to evolve rapidly due to the feedback provided by your users, but also gives you full ownership of how information management is structured in your organization.

Lastly, Sigmah is more than just software: it is a collaborative project run by 14 international aid NGOs for the benefit of the sector as a whole. The vision behind the project is to provide a tool that can be used by all NGOs, whether they are major international NGOs, multinational organisations, small NGOs or national NGOs, with the aim of continually improving the quality of aid delivered.

Is Sigmah designed just for humanitarian actors ?

No. Though Sigmah was initially created by humanitarian NGOs, it was very quickly used in development contexts, and for environmental projects, for example.

How is the software going to evolve in the future ?

The main changes that are planned in the near future are: an integrated system for managing contacts so that, for example, lists of stakeholders can be attached to projects; and, a complete revision of the system for managing indicators.
Other features are being looked into: you can find out about these by consulting the “Features Fair”, and you can even propose one yourself!

My organisation needs a feature that is not yet available in the software. What can I do ?

You can consult the Features Fair to see if your idea has already been expressed. If it has, you can then contact us so that we can put you in touch with the other organisations that are interested in the same feature. This will help to move things forward more quickly.

If the feature you are interested in is not mentioned, contact us to explain it to us. We keep a record of all the needs that have been expressed. We can then find out whether or not your need is among the priorities of the Steering Cooperative and the road map. If this is the case, we will be able to inform you of when the feature is due to be released, and the situation regarding funding. If your need is not a current priority we can then design a functional generic solution with you and you can then decide whether to fund its development alone, or together with other organisations. It will then be available to all the other organisations. Organisations like the International Organisation of La Francophonie and CARE Nederland have already funded the development of features that were a priority for them, and that have subsequently been shared and maintained in the long term by everyone.

 

2. Governance (Open source software and a participatory project)

Who is behind the Sigmah project?

The Sigmah project began in 2008 at the initiative of three NGOs (Solidarités International, Première Urgence, and Aide Médicale Internationale) who approached Groupe URD to assess their needs in terms of project information management to see if a joint solution was possible.

Sigmah is now a collaborative project run by a Steering Cooperative of 14 organisations: Acting For Life, Action Against Hunger, CARE Nederland, Comité de Secours Internationaux, the French Red Cross, the Luxemburg Red Cross, Équilibres & Populations, Etc Terra, Handicap International, Doctors of the World, Première Urgence-Aide Médicale Internationale, Solidarités International, Triangle Génération Humanitaire and Groupe URD, which is the facilitator of the project. The project is funded by a number of donors (ECHO, AFD, HIF, etc.) and is developed by several technical partners: Atol C&D, Code Lutin and Netapsys.

What is the Steering Cooperative ?

The Steering Cooperative is a group of organisations that use Sigmah or support it operationally. It is made up of two committees: a decision-making committee and an adoption supervisors’ committee. The decision-making committee meets at least 4 times a year, and is responsible for defining the priorities and strategy of the project. The adoption supervisors’ committee meets twice a year on average, its role being to encourage the sharing of experiences in relation to adopting the software and to validate the design of generic features for shared needs.

Why join the Steering Cooperative ?

Sigmah is more than just software: it is a collaborative project run by 14 international aid NGOs for the sector as a whole. The vision behind the project is to provide a tool that can be used by all NGOs, whether they are major international NGOs, multinational organisations, small NGOs or national NGOs, with the aim of continually improving the quality of aid delivered.

By joining the Steering Cooperative, you will be supporting this vision, and you will be helping to realise it. You can support the project financially to help it move forward. As a member, your organization will be able to take part in making decisions and establishing priorities with regard to subsequent developments of the software.

I like the project but I am not directly concerned in terms of using the software. How can I contribute ?

-* By spreading the word about Sigmah, for example, by sharing this one-minute video on social networks here: Twitter, Facebook, LinkedIn, Google + ;

  • By making a donation;
  • By providing services as a volunteer:
    • Translator: Sigmah exists in Engliah, Spanish and French but we would like it to be available in other languages. It contains around 5000 words and it has already been partially translated into certain languages. It is also possible to contribute to the translation of the User’s Guide.
    • Software developer: you can join our community of developers and begin developing one of the future features of Sigmah.
    • Beta-tester of new versions of the software.

 

3. Institutional adoption/ Cost

How much does Sigmah cost? Is it free ?

As Sigmah is open source software, users do not need to pay, or have a license, to use it.
The software itself is free of charge. Only optional services are paying: this can be an in-depth needs assessment, a training course, support for configuration or hosting, technical support, maintenance, etc. For more information, see the different service package options.
No matter what options are decided, using and adopting Sigmah will always require a major investment in terms of time, and therefore represents an unavoidable additional cost, especially during the launch phase. For a successful, long-term adoption, a certain level of investment is necessary in terms of human resources.

How long does it take to start using Sigmah ?

This depends on multiple factors, the most important of which is the size of the organisation and whether you choose to adopt Sigmah alone or with external support, with one or more support services (managing organizational change, needs assessment, specific developments, training, recuperation of existing data, help with the configuration, hosting, technical support, maintenance, development of advanced dashboards, etc.).
At the same time, it is possible to adopt Sigmah without any external assistance in only a few weeks.

What has been the experience of other organisations in adopting Sigmah ?

Each adoption of Sigmah is different. For example, in addition to structuring its project information and making it available to all its teams, Care Nederland wanted to make its reporting to one of its donors automatic. Handicap International, on the other hand, uses Sigmah internally to support the implementation of its monitoring and evaluation policy. Other organisations, like PADEM, have chosen Sigmah to structure its institutional memory, and compensate for frequent changes in staff and the fact that information is dispersed.
Though each adoption project is different, the experiences of organisations who have adopted Sigmah have been compiled in a document of good practices. You can read the document here.

Is there a minimum size for an organisation to adopt Sigmah ?

Organisations of all sizes have already adopted Sigmah (from teams of 2 to 3 people to a staff of more than 100 people). The common denominator between these different organisations is the difficulty that they faced in structuring information from their projects and their desire to centralise information in order to make it accessible to all their staff no matter where they were located (headquarters, at home, regional offices, project sites, etc.).

Sigmah would have limited added value for a small team managing every aspect of a single project (other information sharing tools could be used). However, for teams that manage several projects in different sites, Sigmah definitely has advantages, no matter what size they are.

 

4. Technical specifications

What do I need to start using Sigmah ?

The only thing you need is a hosting platform.
There are two hosting options:

  • install and host Sigmah on your organisation’s own server;
  • subscribe to a service package and the shared hosting of Sigmah Central (see hosting packages).

Is Sigmah installed on my computer ?

Sigmah is a web application. It therefore does not need to be installed on each computer that is going to use it.
The preferred web browser for Sigmah is Mozilla Firefox. Mozilla Firefox was chosen because it is fast, it is widely used, it is available for free on Windows, Linux and Macintosh, and it is open source like Sigmah.

 

5. Security / Confidentiality

Is open source software really secure ?

More than half of all the websites in the world use the open source web server, Apache. Open source software is at least as secure as proprietary software.
Sigmah has several levels of security and responsibility:

  • On the server: the shared server Sigmah Central if fully secured, both against the loss of data (automatic backups) and the risk of intrusion. If the software is installed on an organisation’s own server, it is their responsibility to take the necessary security measures.
  • Between the server and the user’s computer: the shared server, Sigmah Central, uses the secure HTTPS internet communication protocol. This is the same protocol that is used to safely log on to your bank account, for example. It is easy for organisations that install Sigmah on their own server to set up the HTTPS protocol.
  • The responsibility of the user: the majority of security breaches happen at the user level. Using passwords that are too weak, sharing passwords with a third party, etc. are reasons why an intruder can gain access to an organisation’s Sigmah. The software includes a button, “Destroy offline bases”, which allows users to remove any trace of Sigmah data from their computer.

 

Back to top

FAQ

La foire aux questions de Sigmah

1.Le logiciel et ses fonctionnalités

Sigmah, c’est quoi ?

Sigmah est un logiciel de gestion de l’information des projets d’aide internationale. Il permet d’organiser et de partager l’information des projets comme :
- Les documents clés (termes de références, propositions, CV, etc.). Les différentes versions des documents peuvent aussi être stockées jusqu’à la version finale.
- Les dates importantes (réunion de démarrage, visite de terrain, remise de rapports d’activités).
- Le suivi des indicateurs du projet et du cadre logique.

Sigmah permet de suivre l’avancement de chaque projet. Le tableau de bord du logiciel permet par ailleurs de voir l’avancement global de tous les projets en un coup d’œil.

Le logiciel est construit autour des différentes phases de la gestion de projet. Ces phases et toute autre étape importante à respecter peuvent être facilement adaptées aux meilleures pratiques de votre organisation.

Qu’est-ce que Sigmah apporte à mon organisation ?

Sigmah permet à tous les utilisateurs de votre organisation, selon leur profil et leurs droits d’accès, de consulter en temps réel l’information de l’ensemble des projets.

  1. Sigmah facilite le partage d’information entre les équipes : entre le siège, les pays et les sites du projet ; entre pays, etc.
  2. Sigmah permet d’accéder aux /de retrouver les documents importants en quelques clics.
  3. Sigmah facilite un suivi actualisé des projets.
  4. En amenant votre organisation à définir les étapes-clés liées à la gestion de vos projets mais aussi les informations à recueillir pour chacune de ces phases, Sigmah encourage la définition et l’adoption de bonnes pratiques au sein de votre organisation.

Puis-je utiliser Sigmah pour le suivi financier de mes projets ?

Seules les informations de consommation budgétaire globale par projet sont disponibles. En effet, dans le diagnostic des besoins qui a précédé le développement de Sigmah, il est apparu très clairement que la plupart des organisations avaient déjà développé des procédures internes et investi dans des systèmes financiers performants afin de faciliter les audits internes et externes ainsi que le reporting auprès des bailleurs. Par conséquent, Sigmah se concentre sur la mise en valeur des données-clés nécessaires à la bonne gestion de votre organisation (voir Fonctionnalités).

Qu’est-ce que le mode déconnecté ?

Le mode déconnecté permet à un utilisateur de continuer à travailler dans Sigmah même lorsqu’il n’a plus de connexion Internet. Il peut ensuite partager son travail avec ses collaborateurs en le synchronisant dès qu’une connexion est à nouveau disponible.

En mode déconnecté, l’utilisateur peut utiliser Sigmah presque intégralement : il peut consulter la dernière version des informations téléchargées, modifier des informations, attacher des fichiers, etc. Seules la modification des rapports, la création de projet et les tâches d’administration ne sont pas accessibles.

Dans quelles langues Sigmah est-il disponible ?

Sigmah est à ce jour disponible en trois langues : français, anglais et espagnol. Mais vous pouvez tout à fait contribuer à sa traduction dans une ou plusieurs autres langues grâce au logiciel de traduction en ligne Pootle. Ainsi, une version arabe de Sigmah pourrait être disponible prochainement si un volontaire se propose de terminer la traduction du logiciel qui est déjà bien avancée dans cette langue.

Quelle est la différence entre Sigmah et les autres logiciels du même type existants ?

La spécificité essentielle de Sigmah est qu’il vise à l’autonomisation des organisations qui l’utilisent. L’objectif du projet Sigmah est de renforcer les capacités de gestion de l’information des organisations d’aide internationale.
Non seulement Sigmah est distribué avec une licence de logiciel libre, mais le logiciel est conçu pour pouvoir être paramétré sans expertise informatique spéciale. La licence libre de Sigmah garantit aux organisations une autonomie par rapport aux prestataires de service. Elle facilite aussi son utilisation par des organisations de toute taille car aucun frais n’est obligatoire.

Quant aux écrans de paramétrage, accessibles à toute personne ayant un peu d’aisance avec des tableurs comme LibreOffice Calc ou Microsoft Excel, ils permettent à des experts du métier de faire une relation directe entre d’une part les besoins concrets de l’organisation, et d’autre part toutes les possibilités de paramétrage offertes. Cette expérience directe sans intermédiaire permet non seulement de faire évoluer le paramétrage avec une très grande réactivité par rapport aux retours faits par vos utilisateurs, mais construit surtout une maîtrise de la structure de gestion de l’information dans votre organisation.

Enfin, Sigmah est plus qu’un simple logiciel : c’est une initiative collaborative initiée et gérée par 14 ONG d’aide internationale pour l’ensemble de la communauté. La vision qui sous-tend le projet consiste à mettre à disposition de toutes les ONG, que ce soit des petites ou des grandes ONG, nationales ou internationales, ou des organisations multinationales, un outil commun dans le but d’améliorer de façon continue la qualité de l’aide fournie aux populations dans le besoin.

Sigmah est-il uniquement conçu pour les acteurs humanitaires ?

Non. Bien que Sigmah soit né d’une initiative d’ONG humanitaires, il a très rapidement été utilisé dans des contextes de développement, ou pour des projets environnementaux par exemple.

Quelles évolutions du logiciel sont prévues à l’avenir ?

Les principales évolutions prévues dans un avenir proche sont : un système intégré de gestion de contacts pour attacher par exemple aux projets des listes de parties prenantes ; une révision complète du système de gestion des indicateurs.
D’autres fonctionnalités sont à l’étude : vous pouvez consulter la Foire aux Fonctionnalités pour les découvrir, et même en proposer vous-mêmes !

Mon organisation a besoin d’une fonctionnalité qui n’est pas encore disponible dans le logiciel. Que puis-je faire ?

Vous pouvez aller consulter la Foire aux Fonctionnalités pour voir si votre besoin n’y est pas déjà décrit. En nous contactant ensuite, nous pourrons vous référencer parmi les organisations intéressées par ce développement, ce qui accélérera forcément sa mise en œuvre.

Si la fonctionnalité attendue n’est pas mentionnée, contactez-nous également pour nous la décrire. Nous référençons tous les besoins exprimés. Nous pourrons alors voir si votre besoin fait partie ou non des priorités partagées de la Coopérative de Pilotage et de la feuille de route. Si votre besoin en fait partie, nous pourrons vous informer de la date prévue de sortie de la fonctionnalité, et de l’état de son financement. Si votre besoin n’en fait pas partie, nous pourrons alors concevoir avec vous une réponse fonctionnelle générique et vous pourrez décider de financer son développement ou de vous associer à d’autres organisations pour la financer de façon conjointe. Elle sera ensuite disponible pour toutes les autres organisations. Des organisations comme l’Organisation Internationale de la Francophonie ou CARE Nederland ont déjà soutenu financièrement le développement de fonctionnalités prioritaires pour elles, qui ont ensuite été partagées et maintenues dans le long terme pour tous.

 

2. Gouvernance du projet

Qui est à l’initiative du projet Sigmah ?

Le projet Sigmah est né en 2008 à l’initiative de trois ONG (Solidarités International, Première Urgence, et Aide Médicale Internationale) qui ont approché le Groupe URD pour analyser leurs besoins en termes de gestion de l’information des projets et voir si une réponse mutualisée était possible.

Sigmah est maintenant un projet collaboratif géré par une Coopérative de pilotage composée de 14 organisations : Acting For Life, Action Contre la Faim, CARE Nederland, Comité de Secours Internationaux, Croix-Rouge française, Croix-Rouge Luxembourg, Équilibres & Populations, Etc Terra, Handicap International, Médecins du Monde, Première Urgence-Aide Médicale Internationale, Solidarités International, Triangle Génération Humanitaire et le Groupe URD en tant qu’animateur du projet. Le projet est soutenu financièrement par des bailleurs (ECHO, AFD, HIF, etc.) et développé par plusieurs partenaires techniques : Atol C&D, Code Lutin et Netapsys.

Qu’est-ce que la Coopérative de Pilotage ?

La Coopérative de Pilotage est le collectif rassemblant toutes les organisations utilisant ou soutenant opérationnellement Sigmah. Il est divisé en deux comités : un comité de décision et un comité des référents adoptions. Le comité de décision se réunit en moyenne 4 fois par an, et a la charge de définir les priorités et la stratégie du projet. Le comité des référents adoptions se réunit en moyenne deux fois par an, et a pour rôle de favoriser l’échange de pratiques sur les problématiques d’adoption entre les membres et de valider les conceptions des fonctionnalités génériques à des besoins communs.

Quel est l’intérêt de rejoindre la Coopérative de Pilotage ?

Sigmah est plus qu’un simple logiciel : c’est une initiative collaborative initiée et gérée par 14 ONG d’aide internationale pour l’ensemble de la communauté. La vision qui sous-tend le projet consiste à mettre à disposition de toutes les ONG, que ce soit des petites ou des grandes ONG, nationales ou internationales, ou des organisations multinationales, un outil commun dans le but d’améliorer de façon continue la qualité de l’aide fournie aux populations dans le besoin.

En rejoignant le projet et la Coopérative de pilotage, vous adhérez à cette vision, et vous aidez à sa réalisation. Vous pouvez participer financièrement au projet pour l’aider à se développer. En étant membre, votre organisation pourra participer aux décisions et aux priorisations en lien avec les prochains développements du logiciel.

J’aime ce projet mais je ne suis pas directement concerné par l’utilisation du logiciel. Comment puis-je contribuer ?

-* En faisant connaître Sigmah dans vos réseaux, par exemple en partageant la vidéo d’une minute présentant le projet par ces boutons : Twitter, Facebook, LinkedIn, Google + ;

  • En faisant un don ;
  • En proposant vos services comme bénévole :
    • Traducteur : Sigmah existe en anglais, espagnol et français mais nous aimerions que le logiciel soit disponible dans d’autres langues. Le logiciel contient environ 5.000 mots et certaines langues ont déjà été partiellement traduites. Il est également possible de contribuer à la traduction du manuel.
    • Développeur informatique : vous pouvez rejoindre notre communauté de développeurs et commencer à développer l’une des fonctionnalités à venir de Sigmah.
    • « Bêta-testeur » des nouvelles versions du logiciel.

 

3. Adoption institutionnelle & coût

Combien coûte Sigmah ? Est-il gratuit ?

Sigmah étant un logiciel libre, aucun coût ni aucune licence n’est exigé(e) pour l’utiliser.

Le logiciel en lui-même est donc gratuit. Seuls les services optionnels que vous pouvez demander sont ensuite payants : il peut s’agit d’un diagnostic approfondi de vos besoins, d’une formation, d’un accompagnement au paramétrage ou pour l’hébergement, d’un support technique, de maintenance, etc. Pour plus d’information, consultez les propositions de forfaits de service.

Dans tous les cas et quelles que soient les options retenues, l’utilisation et a fortiori l’adoption de Sigmah demande un fort investissement en temps et représente donc une charge additionnelle à ne pas négliger à cet égard, surtout durant la phase de lancement. Cela implique donc un certain investissement en termes de ressources humaines si vous souhaitez que cette démarche soit une pleine réussite et soit durable.

En combien de temps est-il possible de démarrer l’utilisation de Sigmah ?

La réponse dépend de multiples paramètres dont, en priorité, la taille de votre organisation et votre choix d’utiliser Sigmah en l’adoptant seul ou avec un appui externe sur un ou plusieurs services d’accompagnement (gestion du changement organisationnel, étude des besoins, développements spécifiques, formation, récupération des données existantes, accompagnement au paramétrage, hébergement, support technique, maintenance, développement de tableaux de bord avancés, etc.).

Il est toutefois tout à fait possible d’adopter Sigmah sans aucune assistance extérieure et en quelques semaines seulement.

Quelle est l’expérience d’autres organisations ayant adopté Sigmah ?

Chacune des adoptions de Sigmah revêt un caractère unique. Care Nederland, en plus de structurer l’information de ses projets et de la rendre accessible à toutes ses équipes, souhaitait par exemple aussi automatiser le reporting de ses projets auprès d’un de ses bailleurs. Handicap International déploie quant à lui Sigmah en interne pour appuyer la mise en œuvre opérationnelle de sa politique de suivi et évaluation. D’autres organisations, comme le PADEM, ont choisi Sigmah pour structurer la mémoire de l’organisation, et pallier les changements fréquents d’équipes et la dispersion de l’information.

Si chaque projet d’adoption est spécifique, les expériences des organisations ayant adopté Sigmah nous ont permis de produire un document compilant quelques bonnes pratiques. Il est consultable ici : Best practices for a successful adoption.

Y a-t-il une taille minimale d’organisation pour adopter Sigmah ?

Des organisations de toutes tailles ont déjà adopté Sigmah (d’équipes de 2 à 3 personnes à plus de 100 personnes). Le dénominateur commun entre ces différentes structures était une difficulté à structurer l’information de leurs projets et le souhait de centraliser l’information pour la rendre accessible à toutes leurs équipes quelle que soit leur localisation géographique (siège, domicile, bureaux régionaux, sites de projet, etc.).

Une équipe réduite gérant intégralement un seul et unique projet trouverait la valeur ajoutée de Sigmah limitée (d’autres outils de partage d’informations pourraient alors être mis en œuvre). Une équipe, quelle que soit sa taille, gérant plusieurs projets sur différents sites trouvera en revanche un bénéfice certain à utiliser Sigmah.

 

4. Spécifications techniques

De quoi ai-je besoin pour démarrer mon utilisation de Sigmah ?

La seule chose dont vous avez besoin est un espace d’hébergement.
Deux options s’offrent à vous pour l’hébergement :
-  Soit installer et héberger Sigmah sur un serveur au de votre organisation.
-  Soit souscrire à un forfait de services pour disposer de l’hébergement mutualisé Sigmah Central (voir les forfaits de service).

Sigmah est-il installé sur mon ordinateur ?

Sigmah est une application web. Il n’y a donc pas d’installation à faire sur chacun des ordinateurs qui l’utilisent.

Sigmah fonctionne de préférence avec le navigateur web Mozilla Firefox. Mozilla Firefox a été choisi comme navigateur de prédilection, car c’est un navigateur performant, largement utilisé, disponible gratuitement aussi bien sur Windows, Linux et Macintosh, et que c’est un logiciel libre comme Sigmah.

 

5. Sécurité & confidentialité

Un logiciel libre, c’est vraiment sécurisé ?

Plus de la moitié de tous les sites web du monde utilisent le logiciel libre Apache serveur pour fonctionner. Les logiciels libres sont au moins aussi sûrs que les logiciels propriétaires.

En ce qui concerne Sigmah en particulier, plusieurs niveaux de sécurité et de responsabilité sont à prendre en compte :

  • Sur le serveur : le serveur mutualisé Sigmah Central a toutes les assurances en termes de sécurité, aussi bien contre la perte de données (sauvegardes automatiques) que sur les risques d’intrusion. Dans le cas d’une installation sur un serveur propre, c’est à l’organisation qui installe Sigmah de prendre toutes les mesures de sécurité.
  • Entre le serveur et l’ordinateur de l’utilisateur : le serveur mutualisé Sigmah Central utilise le protocole de communication web sécurisé HTTPS. C’est le même protocole utilisé pour permettre de se connecter en toute sécurité pour suivre son compte en banque par exemple. Il est facile pour les organisations qui installent Sigmah chez elles de mettre en place ce protocole HTTPS.
  • Responsabilité de l’utilisateur : la majeure partie des failles de sécurité relèvent de l’utilisateur. Utilisation de mots de passe trop faibles, communication de mot de passe à des tiers, etc. sont autant de raisons qui permettent à un intrus d’accéder au Sigmah d’une organisation. Egalement sous la responsabilité de l’utilisateur, un bouton « Détruire les bases de données hors-ligne » est mis à disposition dans le logiciel pour permettre à tout utilisateur de détruire toute trace de ses données Sigmah sur son ordinateur.

Retour haut de page