This is an archived page of the former Sigmah website which is no longer maintained. Come on the new website!
Ceci est une page archivée de l'ancien site Sigmah qui n'est plus maintenu. Rendez-vous sur le nouveau site !
 

6.1.1. “User”, “Profile” and “Privacy group”

Submitted by pbrunet on Tue, 06/07/2011 - 13:53

User
 
A “user” is an individual who is authorised to use Sigmah as part of an organisation’s use of the software. This means that their project team (or the organisation’s Sigmah focal point, depending on the institutional set up) has given them a certain number of rights with regard to using Sigmah which are decided during the parameterization of the software and which the user in question may or may not be able to modify (see Profiles below).
In the “Users” table, accessed via the “Users” sub-tab on the “Administration” screen, there are 9 pieces of information about each user :
1.    Surname
2.    First name
3.    Status: a user account can be

  • Active (which means that the user’s account has been created and can be used by them)
  • Blocked (which means that the user’s account has been created but cannot be used by them)

4.    E-mail
5.    Invitation language: English or French
6.    Organisational unit
7.    Password change key
8.    Last password change
9.    Profiles: see below

Profile
A profile is all a user’s rights depending on the types of authorization that they have and the privacy groups (see below) they belong to.
These authorizations (called "Global permissions" in the software) are as follows:

  1. Project authorisations:
    1. View project: authorisation to consult the content of projects attached to organisational units to which the user has access;
    2. Edit the content of project fields: authorisation to modify the content of Phases and the "Details" sub-tab for projects attached to organisational units to which the user has writing access;
    3. Edit the content of closed projects/phases: authorisation to modify all aspects of a project or a phase even if they are closed.
    4. Delete a file from a project: authorisation to delete a file attached to the server (to delete the files available in the "Reports and documents" sub-tabs);
    5. Change phase: authorisation to close a project phase and activate the following one;
    6. Link two projects;
    7. Lock project core;
    8. Validate project core version;
    9. View logical framework: authorisation to view the "Logical framework" sub-tab;
    10. Edit logical framework: authorisation to modify the content of the "Logical framework" sub-tab;
    11. View agenda: authorisation to see the "Agenda" sub-tab;
    12. Edit agenda: authorisation to modify the content of the "Agenda" sub-tab;
    13. View indicators: authorisation to view the "Manage indicators" and "Indicator Data Entry" sub-tabs;
    14. Manage indicators: authorisation to modify the content of the "Manage indicators" sub-tab;
    15. Edit indicators: authorisation to modify the content of the "Indicator Data Entry" sub-tab;
    16. View map: authorisation to view the "Map" sub-tab;
    17. Manage main site; authorisation to define and modify the location of the project;
    18. Manage sites: authorisation to define and modify indicator collection sites;
    19. Create project;
    20. Create test project;
    21. Delete project;
  2. Organisational unit authorisations
    1. Edit content of organisatinal unit fields: authorisation to modify the content of the "Information" sub-tab of organisational units to which the user has access;
    2. Delete a file from an organisatinal unit;
    3. View organisational unit agenda: authorisation to view the "Agenda" sub-tab;
    4. Edit organisational unit agenda: authorisation to modify the content of the "Agenda" sub-tab;
  3. Administration authorisations
    1. Access to Administration: "Administration" button appears on the menu of the user's Dashboard, and gives access to the corresponding screen;
    2. Manage users: "Users" appears on the Administration menu, and gives access to the corresponding screen;
    3. Manage organisational units: "Organisational units" appears on the Administration menu and gives access to the corresponding screen;
    4. Manage report models: "Report models" appears on the Administration menu and gives access to the corresponding screen;
    5. Manage categories: "Categories" appears on the Administration menu and gives access to the corresponding screen;
    6. Manage importation frameworks: "Importation frameworks" appears on the Administration menu and gives access to the corresponding screen;
    7. Manage parameters:"Parameters" appears on the Administration menu and gives access to the corresponding screen;
  4. Other authorisations
    1. Edit your reminders
    2. Edit all reminders
    3. Global export: the "Export all" button appears on the Dashboard table of projects, and the corresponding function is activated;
    4. Export in HXL format: feature not available in v2.0
    5. Change password
    6. Import data


Privacy group  
A privacy group is a number of sections which have the same type of privacy. For example, a “Security” privacy group might include all the sections with security-related information or an HR privacy group might include all the information related to the monitoring and evaluation of human resources, etc.
When a section is included in a privacy group, by default it can no longer be viewed by all users.
But these privacy groups can then be associated to users via the link created between these groups and profiles, to allow access to sections which belong to privacy groups. Two levels of authorization exist between profiles and privacy groups:

  • View: allows users with this profile to view the content of a privacy group without modifying it ;
  • Edit: allows users with this profile to view and modify the contents of a privacy group.

If a user has several profiles, only the strongest authorization level is maintained for each privacy group.